Nod to Four New Urban Townships on Noida E-Way

GREATER NOIDA: The second phase of the Yamuna Expressway Industrial Development Authority's Master Plan-2031 was approved by a joint board of the three developments Authorities Noida, Greater Noida and YEIDA on Monday, paving the way for four new urban townships adjacent to the cities of Aligarh, Agra, Hathras and Mathura.

While two townships will be developed at Tappal and Raya, locations for the other two are yet to be earmarked. 

YEIDA tabled its budget for this financial year, allocating Rs 6,229 crore for projects, with a large chunk being reserved for land acquisition and farmers' compensation, besides promising to deliver 4,500 out of 7,000 affordable housing units by December 2015. YEIDA's CEO PC Gupta said that the four new urban centres, spread over 20,000 hectares, will be developed as smart cities. The total area under the Master Plan-2031 (Phase-II) measures over two lakh hectares, which is more than double the area of the Phase-I in the master plan, and is expected to have a population of 21 lakh by 2031.

"The Tappal urban center will be developed across 11,101.40 hectares, whereas the Raya centre will be developed across 9,366.20 hectares. They are proposed to have a population of 12.75 lakh and 9.76 lakh respectively," he said. "A dedicated tourist zone will also be developed in Raya while Tappal will boast of a recreational zone," Gupta said. 

"Work on the four townships will start immediately after the state government gives its green signal. These will be smart cities that exploit technology to offer more structured and hospitable living conditions for residents," he said.